Reference

Questions and answers

Short answers to the questions readers ask most. Each one links to the page that explains it in full, with sources.

Bits and fit

Is a 2.35 mm bit the same as a 3/32-inch bit?

Not on paper: 3/32 inch is exactly 2.38125 mm. We found no maker statement that bits labeled 2.35 mm and 3/32 inch are interchangeable, so follow the shank size your handpiece maker states. See 3/32 vs 2.35 mm bits. More in Nail drill bits: fit first, then material and shape

Do all 3/32-inch bits fit all nail drills?

Most do, but not all. Medicool says its 3/32-inch bits fit all Medicool drills and most professional drills, yet its 5-in-1 carbide bits do not work with three of its own vacuum machines. More in Nail drill bits: fit first, then material and shape

How long do nail drill bits last?

Medicool estimates that, in daily professional use, carbide bits last about 2-4 months, ceramic 3-6 months and diamond 6-12 months. That is one maker's estimate, not a standard. More in Nail drill bits: fit first, then material and shape

Do left-handed nail techs need special bits?

Some makers sell left-hand versions or bits that cut both ways. Erica's ATA sells many of its bits in left- and right-hand versions, and Medicool markets its 5-in-1 carbide bit for both right- and left-handed techs. More in Nail drill bits: fit first, then material and shape

Do diamond and carbide bit grits mean the same thing across brands?

No. Each maker names its own grades: KUPA sells its diamond small barrel in fine, medium and coarse, and its 3-in-1 carbide in five cuts up to 2X-coarse. Compare grits within one brand's range. More in Nail drill bits: fit first, then material and shape

Is 3/32 inch the same as 2.35 mm?

No. 3/32 inch is exactly 2.38125 mm because the inch is defined as exactly 25.4 mm. 2.35 mm is about 0.03 mm smaller. More in 3/32 vs 2.35 mm nail drill bits

Will 2.35 mm bits fit my 3/32 nail drill?

We found no maker statement that says so. KUPA, Medicool and MelodySusie specify 3/32 inch only, so buy bits in the size your handpiece maker states. More in 3/32 vs 2.35 mm nail drill bits

What shank size are most nail drill bits?

The makers we read all state 3/32 inch. MelodySusie calls it the industry-standard size, and Medicool says its bits fit most professional nail drills. More in 3/32 vs 2.35 mm nail drill bits

What if my bit wobbles in the chuck?

Stop and do not run it. Check that the bit is the shank size your handpiece maker states and that it is fully seated and locked; if it still wobbles, contact the drill maker. More in 3/32 vs 2.35 mm nail drill bits

Which lasts longer, carbide or diamond bits?

Medicool estimates diamond bits last about 6-12 months and carbide about 2-4 months in daily professional use. That is one maker's estimate, and lighter use stretches both. More in Carbide vs diamond vs ceramic nail bits

Do ceramic bits run cooler than carbide?

Some makers say so, but we found no comparative measurement. Heat at the nail depends more on speed, pressure and bit wear; Medicool says dull bits cause extra heat and pressure. More in Carbide vs diamond vs ceramic nail bits

Should a beginner use carbide or diamond?

A fine diamond bit is a gentler place to start for prep work, because it sands rather than shaves. Carbide removes product faster, so learn speed control and bit angle first. More in Carbide vs diamond vs ceramic nail bits

Why do nail bits have a Prop 65 warning?

It is a California notice. KUPA's bit pages carry one; we report that it is there and do not interpret what triggered it. More in Carbide vs diamond vs ceramic nail bits

Are nail drill bits universal?

No. Most use a 3/32-inch shank, but Medicool says its bits fit most professional nail drills, not all, and its 5-in-1 carbide bits do not work in three of its own vacuum machines. More in Do all nail drill bits fit all drills?

Will Medicool bits fit a KUPA drill?

Medicool says its Pro Bits use a standard 3/32-inch shank and fit most professional nail drills, and KUPA's handpieces take standard 3/32-inch bits. Neither maker names the other, so check that the bit seats and locks properly. More in Do all nail drill bits fit all drills?

Do MelodySusie bits fit other brands' drills?

MelodySusie says all its bits are 3/32 inch, the size most makers state. It does not list other brands' drills, so follow your drill maker's stated shank size. More in Do all nail drill bits fit all drills?

What size holes does a nail bit holder need?

The same shank size as your bits. MelodySusie's 10-hole holder, for example, takes 3/32-inch bits. More in Do all nail drill bits fit all drills?

What is a safety bit used for?

Surface work close to the cuticle. Its smooth, rounded top is meant not to cut, so the side of the barrel does the work. KUPA's bit kit, for example, includes a carbide safety bit. More in Nail drill bit shapes and grits

Is there a standard nail bit grit chart?

We found no cross-brand standard. KUPA sells diamond bits in fine, medium and coarse and carbide in five cuts up to 2X-coarse, but other makers use their own names, so compare within one brand. More in Nail drill bit shapes and grits

What does a 5-in-1 bit do?

It is a carbide bit shaped to do several shaping and removal jobs. Medicool's 5-in-1 (CC22) is also designed to cut in both directions, for right- and left-handed techs. More in Nail drill bit shapes and grits

How many bits does a beginner need?

A few: a fine diamond for prep, a safety bit, and a fine or medium carbide barrel or 5-in-1 for shaping. Add shapes as your work needs them. More in Nail drill bit shapes and grits

Which bit type should I start with?

Start from the job, not the shape. Carbide bits with flutes cut product such as gel, diamond bits grind with a grit, and a mandrel takes disposable sanding bands. Whatever you choose, buy it in the shank size your handpiece maker states. More in Nail drill bit type finder

What does a 5-in-1 carbide bit do?

It is a multi-purpose carbide bit. Medicool designs its 5-in-1 (CC22) to cut both clockwise and counter-clockwise for right- and left-handed techs, but says it does not work with three of its own vacuum machines. More in Nail drill bit type finder

Why do some bit type fields say 'Not confirmed'?

We show a value only when a maker page or a named source states it. Shapes such as the cone, flame and ball bit are common, but we found no maker fact specific to them yet, so their pages define the shape and mark the rest as not confirmed. More in Nail drill bit type finder

What shank size are most nail drill bits?

3/32 inch is the common size: MelodySusie and Medicool say all their bits use it. 3/32 inch is exactly 2.38125 mm, and we found no maker statement that 2.35 mm bits are interchangeable with it. More in Nail drill bit type finder

Buying and safety

Is an ETL-listed nail lamp the same as a UL-listed one?

Both are safety certifications: the ETL mark comes from Intertek, an OSHA-recognized lab, and UL Solutions says its mark means a product is certified to safety standards. OSHA does not require one specific lab's mark. What matters is that the mark is genuine, so check it in the certifier's directory. More in Buying nail equipment: voltage, safety marks, sellers and returns

Does an FCC mark mean a nail drill is electrically safe?

No. FCC Part 15 testing covers radio-frequency emissions; an FCC mark is not a UL, ETL or CSA safety listing. More in Buying nail equipment: voltage, safety marks, sellers and returns

Who handles the return if I buy nail equipment on Amazon?

It depends on the seller. Amazon says most items can be returned within 30 days of delivery, but when a third-party seller fulfills its own inventory, returns go to that seller. Amazon's A-to-z Guarantee covers delivery and condition of third-party orders. More in Buying nail equipment: voltage, safety marks, sellers and returns

Does buying from a reseller affect the warranty?

It can. Medicool's warranty excludes products bought from unauthorized resellers, and MelodySusie's terms cover its own site and its 'MelodySusie Direct' Amazon store, sending other buyers to the reseller. More in Buying nail equipment: voltage, safety marks, sellers and returns

Do you earn money from these pages?

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Commissions never decide what we recommend. More in Buying nail equipment: voltage, safety marks, sellers and returns

Is there an official KUPA, MelodySusie, Makartt or Kiara Sky store on AliExpress?

We could not establish one. None of these brands' own pages that we read links to an official AliExpress store, so we treat any AliExpress store using their names as unconfirmed. More in Buying nail equipment on AliExpress: a checklist

Is sunuvstore.com SUNUV's official site?

Not according to its own terms, which describe a product-information site that earns Amazon and AliExpress affiliate commissions. SUNUV sells direct from its own store at sunuv.com. More in Buying nail equipment on AliExpress: a checklist

Is a 2.35 mm nail drill bit the same as 3/32 inch?

Not on paper: 3/32 inch is exactly 2.38125 mm. We found no maker statement that the two labels are interchangeable, so buy the shank size your handpiece maker states. More in Buying nail equipment on AliExpress: a checklist

What does a 'conversion plug' in a listing mean?

It may mean a plug adapter rather than a native plug. MelodySusie, for example, says it ships the power supply for the buyer's region with either a national standard plug or a conversion plug. Ask the seller which you will get. More in Buying nail equipment on AliExpress: a checklist

How long do I have to return an AliExpress item?

For items with the Free Return label, AliExpress's terms let you request a return within 15 calendar days of confirmed receipt, opened as a dispute. For other items, read the return terms on the listing before you order. More in Buying nail equipment on AliExpress: a checklist

Is a 35,000 RPM nail drill stronger than a 30,000 RPM one?

RPM is a maker's no-load speed, not strength under load. KUPA's 30,000 RPM and Medicool's 35,000 RPM are both maker figures, and neither is a measurement on a nail. More in How to read nail equipment specs

Can I compare torque between nail drill brands?

Not reliably. Medicool lists 4.8 N-cm for its 35K Portable but does not state a test method, so its figure cannot be lined up with another brand's. More in How to read nail equipment specs

How accurate are cordless nail drill battery claims?

They are maker claims with no test method. Medicool claims up to 20 hours on one page for its 35K Portable while its own 2025 guide lists a different figure. More in How to read nail equipment specs

Are nail lamp labels reliable?

A 2018 study of 28 devices found 23% of visible labels contained errors under the EN 60335-1 labeling guideline. Treat the label as a starting point. More in How to read nail equipment specs

Is MelodySusie Direct on Amazon the official MelodySusie store?

MelodySusie's own returns page says its warranty and return terms cover melodysusie.com and the 'MelodySusie Direct' store on Amazon. More in Is that store official? How to check a nail equipment seller

Does KUPA have an official Amazon or AliExpress store?

We could not establish one. The KUPA pages we read link to no marketplace store, so we do not call any marketplace KUPA seller official. More in Is that store official? How to check a nail equipment seller

Is sunuvstore.com SUNUV's own website?

Its own terms describe a product-information site that earns Amazon Associates and AliExpress commissions, and they do not say SUNUV runs it. SUNUV sells direct at sunuv.com. More in Is that store official? How to check a nail equipment seller

Does Amazon Transparency prove a nail drill is genuine?

For brands enrolled in it, scanning the Transparency code verifies authenticity. A missing code does not prove a fake, because not every brand takes part. More in Is that store official? How to check a nail equipment seller

Why does the seller matter if the product is the same?

Warranty and returns can depend on it. Medicool's warranty excludes products bought from unauthorized resellers, and Amazon sends returns for self-fulfilled third-party items to that seller. More in Is that store official? How to check a nail equipment seller

How long is a nail drill warranty?

It varies by maker. KUPA's Passport NEXT page states one year parts and labor, Medicool states one year for its corded Pro Power 35K, and Kiara Sky one year for its portable drill. More in Nail equipment warranties and returns

Does buying from a third-party seller void the warranty?

It can. Medicool's warranty excludes products bought from unauthorized resellers. MelodySusie sends purchases from its authorized resellers to those resellers. More in Nail equipment warranties and returns

What is SUNUV's warranty?

SUNUV's current product pages show a 2-year warranty and 60-day returns, but its FAQ still says 12 months and 30 days. Ask SUNUV which applies to your order. More in Nail equipment warranties and returns

Can I return a nail lamp bought on Amazon?

Amazon says most items can be returned within 30 days of delivery in original or unused condition, with exceptions on the product page. If a third-party seller fulfilled the order, the return goes to that seller. More in Nail equipment warranties and returns

How do AliExpress returns work for nail equipment?

Free Return applies only to items labeled 'Free Return', with a request within 15 calendar days of confirmed receipt, opened as a dispute. More in Nail equipment warranties and returns

Can I use a 220 V nail drill in the US with a plug adapter?

No. A plug adapter changes the pin shape, not the voltage. Choose a model whose stated input covers 120 V, such as a 100-240 V or 110-220 V input, with a North American plug. More in 120 V nail equipment: voltage, plugs and chargers

Will a 50 Hz dust collector work on US power?

Ask the maker first. ULKA states 110-220 V at 50 Hz only for its Premium collector, while US mains is 60 Hz. More in 120 V nail equipment: voltage, plugs and chargers

Can I use a different charger with my nail drill?

Use the maker's adapter where possible: Medicool's warranty excludes damage from incorrect power adapters. Health Canada says any replacement's output voltage must match the device's input and its current must be compatible. More in 120 V nail equipment: voltage, plugs and chargers

Can I take my US nail lamp to Europe?

SUNUV tells US-lamp owners traveling to the UK or EU that they need a voltage converter. For other brands, check the adapter's input line. More in 120 V nail equipment: voltage, plugs and chargers

What does 'conversion plug' mean on a nail equipment listing?

MelodySusie says its products ship with either a national standard plug or a conversion plug for the buyer's region, so you may receive a plug adapter rather than a native plug. More in 120 V nail equipment: voltage, plugs and chargers

Is ETL as good as UL?

Both come from labs OSHA recognizes to certify products to safety standards. Intertek, which runs ETL, is also accredited by the Standards Council of Canada. More in UL, ETL, CSA, CE and FCC marks on nail equipment

Does an FCC mark mean a nail drill is electrically safe?

No. FCC Part 15 testing covers radio-frequency emissions. An FCC mark is not a UL, ETL or CSA safety listing. More in UL, ETL, CSA, CE and FCC marks on nail equipment

Does a nail lamp need a safety mark in Canada?

Health Canada advises not buying plug-in electrical products without a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL on the product. In Ontario, products must carry an accredited agency's mark before they are sold or used. More in UL, ETL, CSA, CE and FCC marks on nail equipment

SUNUV says its lamps meet ETL requirements. Are they ETL listed?

SUNUV states that every SUNUV lamp meets ETL, FCC, CE and RoHS requirements. We did not find the model in Intertek's directory, so we report it as SUNUV's statement. More in UL, ETL, CSA, CE and FCC marks on nail equipment

How do I check whether an ETL mark is real?

Find the mark on the product, note the maker and model, and search Intertek's directories of listed products. More in UL, ETL, CSA, CE and FCC marks on nail equipment

What nail equipment should a beginner buy first?

It depends on the services you do. Gel work needs a lamp matched to your gel; filing with a drill needs an e-file, bits that fit it, training and a dust collector. NailKnowledge says it is very quick and easy to seriously damage the nail plate with an e-file, so train before buying one. More in Nail equipment type finder

Do I need a dust collector if I only file by hand?

Filing makes dust either way. NIOSH recommends local exhaust ventilation at nail workstations, including portable units that filter or exhaust air, in addition to general room ventilation. More in Nail equipment type finder

What is the difference between a full-hand lamp and a flash-cure lamp?

A full-hand lamp cures a whole hand at once; a flash-cure lamp is a small spot lamp for one nail or a quick tack. Kiara Sky, for example, lists its corded flash-cure lamp at 4 W with two LEDs. More in Nail equipment type finder

Why do some fields say 'Not confirmed'?

We show a value only when a maker page or a named independent source states it. When none does, the field says so instead of repeating a listing claim as fact. More in Nail equipment type finder

Dust collection

Do nail dust collectors work?

Local exhaust at the workstation is what NIOSH recommends, together with general room ventilation. Research on ventilated tables shows design matters a lot, and we found no independent test of the tabletop collectors sold today. See do nail dust collectors work? More in Nail dust collectors: how to choose and what claims mean

Does a higher air speed figure mean better dust capture?

Not on its own. Air speed (in m/s) is the maker's figure, usually without a test method, and it is not the same as airflow volume or capture. ULKA lists 3.2 to 3.5 m/s across its tabletop models, for example. More in Nail dust collectors: how to choose and what claims mean

Can I use a 50 Hz dust collector in the US?

Check with the maker first. US mains power runs at 60 Hz, and ULKA's Premium page states 110-220 V at 50 Hz only. Choose a model whose maker states 110-120 V at 60 Hz. More in Nail dust collectors: how to choose and what claims mean

Is a HEPA nail dust collector better?

A HEPA label is only as useful as the standard behind it. Kiara Sky calls its inner filter HEPA certified, but its page does not name the standard or test, and its 120,000 RPM figure is motor speed, not airflow. More in Nail dust collectors: how to choose and what claims mean

Do I still need a mask with a dust collector?

OSHA says surgical masks do not protect nail technicians from dust or vapors, while NIOSH-approved N95 respirators protect against particulates such as filing dust but not vapors or gases. More in Nail dust collectors: how to choose and what claims mean

How much dust does a nail dust collector capture?

We found no independent measurement for any current consumer collector. NIOSH lab work on ventilated tables and portable source-capture units found potential reductions of at least 50-60%, but results varied by design and the units were not today's tabletop models. More in Do nail dust collectors work?

Is a dust collector enough on its own?

NIOSH recommends local exhaust at the workstation in addition to general room ventilation. In a 2025 New York City pilot, salons with local exhaust alone saw no significant change in airborne VOCs. More in Do nail dust collectors work?

Does a surgical mask stop nail dust?

No. OSHA says surgical masks do not protect nail technicians from dust or vapors. A NIOSH-approved N95 protects against particulates such as filing dust, but not vapors or gases. More in Do nail dust collectors work?

Why did NIOSH judge one downdraft table inadequate?

It leaked around the charcoal filter, had no filter-change indicator, moved air unevenly and moved too little air, about 62 cfm in NIOSH's evaluation. More in Do nail dust collectors work?

Does a HEPA nail dust collector catch all the dust?

No page we read shows that. Kiara Sky calls its inner filter HEPA certified but names no standard or test, and a filter only helps if air passes through it rather than around it. More in HEPA claims and filter care for nail dust collectors

How often should I change a nail dust collector filter?

Follow your maker's manual. For ventilated manicure tables, OSHA advises changing charcoal filters at least monthly and cleaning the catch basin at least weekly. More in HEPA claims and filter care for nail dust collectors

Can I wash a dust collector filter?

Only if the maker says so. Kiara Sky describes a washable inner filter, while the SHEMAX USA guide for the Style V-PRO says to clean its filter dry only, after every client. More in HEPA claims and filter care for nail dust collectors

Do I still need a mask with a HEPA collector?

A collector does not protect against what it misses. OSHA says surgical masks do not protect against dust or vapors, while a NIOSH-approved N95 protects against particulates such as filing dust. More in HEPA claims and filter care for nail dust collectors

Does a higher-wattage dust collector have more suction?

Not necessarily. Watts are power draw. ULKA, for example, lists its 60 W Nano at 3.4 m/s maximum air speed and its 30 W Handy at 3.5 m/s. More in Nail dust collector specs explained

Is a 120,000 RPM motor a measure of suction?

No. Kiara Sky's 120,000 RPM figure describes its collector's motor. Motor speed is not airflow and not capture. More in Nail dust collector specs explained

What CFM should a nail dust collector have?

We found no standard for nail collectors. The one CFM figure we found, about 200 CFM for the 24 W SHEMAX PetitePro X, is the US distributor's statement and looks unusually high for that power. More in Nail dust collector specs explained

Can I compare air speed in m/s across brands?

Not reliably. Makers do not say where or how they measured it, and SHEMAX's own US and Canadian pages give the same 4.4 figure in different units. More in Nail dust collector specs explained

Is a built-in dust collector stronger than a tabletop one?

We found no independent measurement that compares the two types. ULKA, which makes both, frames the choice mainly around workspace: installation and mobility. More in Tabletop vs built-in nail dust collectors

What size hole does a built-in nail dust collector need?

It depends on the model. SHEMAX's Style V-PRO needs a 190 x 260 mm cutout according to its US distributor. Get the maker's template for your model before cutting. More in Tabletop vs built-in nail dust collectors

Which type is better for a mobile nail tech?

A tabletop unit, because it needs no installation and can move with you. Check its height and footprint against the desks you work on. More in Tabletop vs built-in nail dust collectors

Can I use a 50 Hz dust collector in the US?

ULKA states 110-220 V at 50 Hz only for its Premium unit, while US mains is 60 Hz. Ask the maker before using a 50 Hz-only unit in the US or Canada. More in Tabletop vs built-in nail dust collectors

E-files

Is a 35,000 RPM nail drill better than a 30,000 RPM one?

Not by that number alone. RPM is the maker's stated top speed, not a measurement under load, and Medicool's own FAQ suggests working well below it: about 5,000-10,000 RPM for natural nail prep and 15,000-20,000 RPM for gel removal, starting low. More in E-files: how to choose a nail drill

Which e-file speed suits a beginner?

Medicool positions its Pro Power 20K, which runs up to 20,000 RPM, for beginners and personal use, and its 30K and 35K models for professionals. Whatever the top speed, start low and build up with training. More in E-files: how to choose a nail drill

Can I compare torque figures between brands?

Not reliably. Medicool lists 4.8 N-cm for its 35K Portable but does not state how it measured that figure, so a number from another brand may not be measured the same way. More in E-files: how to choose a nail drill

Is an e-file safe for home use?

NailKnowledge, a nail-education site, says e-files are safe in trained hands but that it is very quick and easy to seriously damage the nail plate with one. Get training before you use one on natural nails. More in E-files: how to choose a nail drill

Can I use any power adapter with my e-file?

Use the one the maker supplies or approves. Medicool tells owners to use only Medicool-approved power adapters, and its warranty excludes damage from incorrect voltage or power adapters. More in E-files: how to choose a nail drill

How often should I replace nail drill bits?

When they stop cutting cleanly. For daily professional use, Medicool estimates about 2-4 months for carbide, 3-6 months for ceramic and 6-12 months for diamond, but that is one maker's estimate. More in Nail drill care and repairs

How do I clean a nail drill handpiece?

Wipe it down. Medicool says motorized handpieces should never be submerged in liquid. Wiping is care for the drill, not a hygiene guarantee. More in Nail drill care and repairs

Where can I get a nail drill repaired?

Through the maker. KUPA, for example, runs an authorized repair-center locator on its site and asks owners without a nearby center to contact KUPA. More in Nail drill care and repairs

What voids a nail drill warranty?

It depends on the maker. Medicool's warranty excludes damage from incorrect voltage or power adapters and products bought from unauthorized resellers. More in Nail drill care and repairs

Do left-handed nail techs need a special drill?

They need a drill with a reverse setting and bits that cut in reverse. Many e-files have forward/reverse, including KUPA's Passport NEXT and Medicool's Pro Power 35K Portable. More in Forward and reverse on a nail drill

What is a two-way nail drill bit?

A carbide bit made to cut in both directions. Medicool designed its 5-in-1 carbide bit (CC22) to cut clockwise and counter-clockwise and markets it for right- and left-handed techs. More in Forward and reverse on a nail drill

Are left-hand bits available for every shape?

No. Erica's ATA sells many of its bits in left- and right-hand versions, but not every bit comes in both, so check each one. More in Forward and reverse on a nail drill

Do all MelodySusie drills have reverse?

MelodySusie's FAQ says its drills have forward/reverse and a speed knob, but that is a general answer for the range. Confirm it on the listing or manual for the exact model. More in Forward and reverse on a nail drill

Is 35,000 RPM better than 30,000 RPM?

Not on its own. It is the maker's stated top speed, and Medicool's FAQ suggests working ranges of about 5,000 to 25,000 RPM depending on the job. Speed control at the low end matters more for most work. More in Nail drill RPM and torque

What RPM should I use for gel removal?

Medicool's FAQ suggests about 15,000 to 20,000 RPM, starting low and increasing gradually. Its 2025 guide gives a different range, so treat any figure as a starting point that depends on the bit and your experience. More in Nail drill RPM and torque

What RPM is right for a beginner?

Medicool positions its 20K model, up to 20,000 RPM, for beginners and personal use, and its 30K and 35K models for professionals. Whatever the drill, start at the low end of its range. More in Nail drill RPM and torque

Can I compare torque between nail drill brands?

No. Medicool lists 4.8 N-cm for its 35K Portable but does not say how it measured it, and most makers publish no torque figure at all. Without a shared method the numbers are not comparable. More in Nail drill RPM and torque

What are rings of fire on nails?

Curved grooves or thin red bands filed into the natural nail plate with an e-file. NailKnowledge attributes them mainly to over-filing. More in Rings of fire on the nail

Does a better drill prevent rings of fire?

Not by itself. NailKnowledge lists bit angle, bit quality, speed control and the number of passes as the factors, which are mostly technique and bit condition. More in Rings of fire on the nail

What speed should I use near the natural nail?

Low. Medicool's FAQ suggests about 5,000-10,000 RPM for natural nail prep and cuticle work, starting low and increasing gradually. Treat that as one maker's starting point. More in Rings of fire on the nail

Will a safety bit stop rings of fire?

No bit does on its own. A safety bit's smooth, rounded top helps near the skin, but rings of fire come from over-filing, so angle, speed, pressure and passes still matter. More in Rings of fire on the nail

What is the difference between an e-file and a nail drill?

None in practice. Nail techs usually say e-file and shoppers often say nail drill; both mean an electric tool that spins a bit to shape and file nails. More in What is an e-file?

Can I use any handpiece with my e-file controller?

Only one the controller's maker lists. KUPA, for example, lists six handpieces as compatible with its Passport NEXT control box. If a handpiece is not on the list, treat it as not compatible. More in What is an e-file?

What size bits does an e-file take?

Most makers we read specify 3/32-inch bits, including KUPA and Medicool for the handpieces we cite. Always follow the size the handpiece maker states; see 3/32 vs 2.35 mm bits. More in What is an e-file?

Is an e-file safe for a beginner?

NailKnowledge says e-files are safe in trained hands but that it is very quick and easy to seriously damage the nail plate with one. Learn speed and angle on practice tips before you work on real nails. More in What is an e-file?

Is it normal for a nail drill handpiece to get warm?

Some warmth is normal for any motor. Medicool advises against running a drill continuously at maximum speed for long periods and says dull bits cause extra heat and pressure, so check speed and bits first. More in Why a nail drill handpiece gets hot

Can a dull bit make the drill hot?

Yes. Medicool says dull bits cause extra heat and pressure and advises replacing worn bits. More in Why a nail drill handpiece gets hot

Can I run water over a hot handpiece to cool or clean it?

No. Medicool says motorized handpieces should never be submerged in liquid and should be wiped down instead. Let it cool on its own. More in Why a nail drill handpiece gets hot

Will a third-party power adapter void my warranty?

It can. Medicool's warranty excludes damage from incorrect voltage or power adapters and tells owners to use only Medicool-approved adapters. Check your drill maker's terms. More in Why a nail drill handpiece gets hot

Lamps

Will any nail lamp cure any gel?

Do not assume so. MelodySusie explains that LED lamps emit about 380-410 nm and that an LED lamp may cure a UV gel slowly or not at all. Use the lamp type your gel maker specifies. See will a nail lamp cure any gel? More in UV and LED nail lamps: how to choose and what the claims mean

Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

They can. 'LED' describes the light source, not an absence of UV: a 2021 Australian study measured UVA from all eight home curing devices it tested, seven of them LED lamps. More in UV and LED nail lamps: how to choose and what the claims mean

Does a higher-wattage nail lamp cure faster?

Wattage is the lamp's rated power, not a measure of the light that reaches the nail. Makers rarely publish irradiance, and a 2021 study found price did not indicate lower UV output either. See nail lamp wattage and wavelength. More in UV and LED nail lamps: how to choose and what the claims mean

Does the FDA approve nail lamps?

The FDA classifies a cosmetology UV lamp (product code RGQ) as a UV light source used on skin, nails or hair for cosmetic purposes. No specific performance standard applies to it, only general radiological health requirements. More in UV and LED nail lamps: how to choose and what the claims mean

How can I limit UV on my hands during a gel manicure?

The American Academy of Dermatology suggests a broad-spectrum, water-resistant SPF 30+ sunscreen on the hands, or dark opaque fingerless gloves, before a gel manicure. More in UV and LED nail lamps: how to choose and what the claims mean

Is an LED nail lamp a UV lamp?

It can emit UV. LED names the light source. A 2021 Australian study measured UVA from all eight home curing devices it tested, seven of them LED. More in Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

What wavelength do LED nail lamps use?

MelodySusie describes LED lamps as about 380-410 nm, UV lamps as about 350-380 nm and dual-band lamps as 350-410 nm. Many LED lamps also list 365 nm; SUNUV states 365 nm + 405 nm for all its models. More in Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

Do nail lamps emit UVC or UVB?

In the 2021 Australian study, none of the eight devices emitted UVC, and only the one fluorescent unit emitted trace UVB. More in Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

Does the FDA test nail lamps?

The FDA classifies cosmetology UV lamps under product code RGQ, with no specific performance standard; only general radiological health requirements apply. More in Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

What is a flash-cure lamp for?

Setting one or two nails at a time, often before the main cure. Kiara Sky, for example, designed its two-LED corded flash-cure lamp for its Gelly Tips system. More in Flash-cure vs full-hand nail lamps

Can a flash-cure lamp replace a full-hand lamp?

Only if your gel maker says so. Follow the gel maker's stated lamp and cure time for the full cure. More in Flash-cure vs full-hand nail lamps

Are there cordless full-hand nail lamps?

Yes. Kiara Sky lists its Beyond Pro Rechargeable LED Lamp III as cordless and rechargeable. SUNUV, by contrast, says all its lamps are corded. More in Flash-cure vs full-hand nail lamps

Can I replace the LEDs in a nail lamp?

Not in SUNUV lamps: SUNUV says the LED beads are built in and not replaceable, and it does not sell LED boards. Ask other makers before you buy. More in Flash-cure vs full-hand nail lamps

Are nail lamps safe?

A 2025 review of 17 articles found lamps mostly comply with safety guidelines when used correctly, that some exposures exceeded limits, and that no direct causal link to carcinoma has been established. Long-term effects of accumulated UVA remain unknown. More in Nail lamp UV exposure: what the evidence shows

How long can I keep my hands under a nail lamp?

The 2021 Australian study cites the FDA as recommending no more than 10 minutes per hand per session. Follow your gel maker's cure times within that. More in Nail lamp UV exposure: what the evidence shows

Should I wear sunscreen or gloves under a nail lamp?

The American Academy of Dermatology suggests broad-spectrum, water-resistant SPF 30+ on the hands or dark, opaque fingerless gloves. A 2025 review says the evidence is not strong enough to make either mandatory. More in Nail lamp UV exposure: what the evidence shows

What did the 2023 nail dryer cell study show?

Irradiation from a 365-395 nm UV nail dryer caused DNA damage and mutations in mouse and human cell lines. It was a cell study, and the authors say large population studies are needed. More in Nail lamp UV exposure: what the evidence shows

Do cheaper nail lamps give off more UV?

The 2021 Australian study found price did not indicate lower UV output or a safer operating temperature. More in Nail lamp UV exposure: what the evidence shows

Is a higher-wattage nail lamp better?

Wattage is a power rating, not a measure of light reaching the nail. A 2021 study of eight home devices also found price did not indicate UV output. More in Nail lamp wattage and wavelength explained

What does 365 + 405 nm mean on a nail lamp?

It is a dual-wavelength lamp with diodes aimed at two ranges. SUNUV, for example, states 365 nm + 405 nm for all its lamps. These are the maker's figures, not a measured spectrum. More in Nail lamp wattage and wavelength explained

Are nail lamp labels accurate?

Not always. In a 2018 study of 28 devices in Spanish beauty centers, 23% of the visible labels contained errors under the EN 60335-1 labeling guideline. More in Nail lamp wattage and wavelength explained

Will a 400 nm lamp cure my gel?

Only your gel maker can say. MelodySusie explains that an LED lamp may cure a UV gel slowly or not at all, so check the gel's stated lamp requirement. More in Nail lamp wattage and wavelength explained

Can an LED lamp cure UV gel?

Not reliably. MelodySusie, a lamp maker, says an LED lamp may cure a UV gel slowly or not at all. Check the gel maker's lamp requirement. More in Will any nail lamp cure any gel?

Does a dual-wavelength lamp work with every gel?

We found no evidence for that. A dual-band lamp covers more of the range (MelodySusie gives about 350-410 nm), but only the gel maker can confirm its product cures under it. More in Will any nail lamp cure any gel?

Why does Kiara Sky make a lamp for one system?

Kiara Sky says it designed its corded Beyond Pro Flash Cure LED Lamp, listed at 400 nm, for its Gelly Tips system. More in Will any nail lamp cure any gel?

A listing says the lamp cures all gels. Is that true?

We could not confirm any universal curing claim. Treat it as the seller's claim and follow the gel maker's instructions. More in Will any nail lamp cure any gel?

Portable kits

How long does a cordless nail drill battery last?

Only the makers say, and their figures have no stated test method. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT, Kiara Sky lists 10 hours for its portable drill, and Medicool claims up to 20 hours on its 35K Portable product page. More in Portable nail equipment: cordless e-files, lamps and batteries

Can I use a different charger for my cordless nail drill?

Use the original where you can. Health Canada recommends the original charger and says a replacement's output voltage must match the device's input, with compatible current; incompatible adapters can overheat or damage devices. More in Portable nail equipment: cordless e-files, lamps and batteries

Can I take a rechargeable nail drill on a plane?

Generally yes, under FAA conditions. PHMSA says passengers can generally bring lithium-battery devices and points travelers to the FAA PackSafe guidance; check it and your airline for your specific device. See flying with rechargeable nail equipment. More in Portable nail equipment: cordless e-files, lamps and batteries

Are there cordless nail lamps?

Yes, from some makers. Kiara Sky lists its Beyond Pro Rechargeable LED Lamp III as cordless and available in 120 V for the US, and OPI's Lightning Flash Cure lamp charges by USB. SUNUV says all of its lamps are corded. More in Portable nail equipment: cordless e-files, lamps and batteries

Are cordless nail drills as powerful as corded ones?

On paper the top speeds match: Medicool lists 35,000 RPM for both its corded Pro Power 35K and its 35K Portable. No maker we read publishes a comparable loaded test, so the spec sheet cannot settle it. More in Corded vs cordless nail drills

How long does a cordless nail drill battery last?

Only maker claims exist. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT and Medicool claims up to 20 hours for the 35K Portable on its product page; neither states a test method. More in Corded vs cordless nail drills

Can I use any charger with a cordless nail drill?

Use the original. Health Canada recommends the original charger and says replacement chargers should carry a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL. More in Corded vs cordless nail drills

Is a cordless drill good for a beginner?

It can be, if you will work in different places. If you work at one desk, a corded drill avoids charging and battery care. Either way, start at low speed. More in Corded vs cordless nail drills

Can I take a cordless nail drill on a plane?

In the US, PHMSA says passengers can generally bring lithium-battery devices under FAA conditions and points to the FAA PackSafe guidance. Check PackSafe and your airline for your device's battery before you fly. More in Flying or shipping with rechargeable nail equipment

Can I mail a rechargeable nail lamp?

Yes, but lithium batteries are regulated hazardous materials when shipped in the US, and dangerous goods that must be declared in Canada. Tell the carrier and follow its packing rules. More in Flying or shipping with rechargeable nail equipment

What is a UN 38.3 test summary?

A summary showing a lithium cell or battery passed the UN transport tests. PHMSA says manufacturers must make these summaries available on request since January 21, 2022. More in Flying or shipping with rechargeable nail equipment

Can I travel with a swollen battery?

No. Health Canada advises against using lithium-ion batteries that are swollen, dented or damaged. Contact the maker about a replacement. More in Flying or shipping with rechargeable nail equipment

What equipment does a mobile nail tech need?

At minimum an e-file you can run away from an outlet, bits in your handpiece's size, a lamp matched to your gel system, a way to handle dust, and the original chargers for everything. More in Mobile nail tech equipment checklist

Are there cordless nail lamps?

Yes, from some makers. Kiara Sky lists a cordless rechargeable Lamp III, and OPI lists a cordless flash cure lamp. SUNUV says all its lamps are corded. More in Mobile nail tech equipment checklist

How long will a cordless e-file last on one charge?

Only maker claims exist. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT, with no test method stated, so plan for less and charge every night. More in Mobile nail tech equipment checklist

Can I use one charger for all my equipment?

Only if it matches each device. Health Canada says a replacement charger's output voltage must match the device's input and its current must be compatible. More in Mobile nail tech equipment checklist

Stands and workstation

Where should a nail dust collector go on the desk?

Under or right beside the hand being filed, so the dust is pulled away from both of you. NIOSH recommends this kind of local exhaust at the workstation in addition to general room ventilation, not instead of it. More in Nail desk setup: holders, collector placement and posture

Does a drill holder fit every nail drill?

Check the maker's fit list. MelodySusie lists its 10-hole holder for 3/32-inch bits and for named MelodySusie models such as the SC320H and MM400C; its 'compatible with most nail drills' is a maker claim. More in Nail desk setup: holders, collector placement and posture

How can I avoid back and wrist strain at the nail desk?

NIOSH says nail technicians are at risk of musculoskeletal disorders from awkward postures and repetitive motions such as filing, and suggests posture-improving equipment such as adjustable chairs, plus taking breaks. More in Nail desk setup: holders, collector placement and posture

Does a bit holder keep bits clean?

No. A holder or stand organizes bits and parks the handpiece; it is not a cleaning or hygiene product. Follow your bit maker's care instructions and your state board's rules. More in Nail desk setup: holders, collector placement and posture

Equipment types

What speed should I run a corded e-file at?

There is no single rule. Medicool's FAQ suggests about 5,000-10,000 RPM for natural nail prep and cuticle work, 15,000-20,000 RPM for gel removal and 20,000-25,000 RPM for acrylic removal, starting low and increasing gradually. Medicool's own 2025 guide gives different ranges, and both say speed depends on the bit and your experience. More in Corded e-file

Is a 20,000 RPM drill enough for a beginner?

Medicool positions its Pro Power 20K (up to 20,000 RPM) for beginners and personal use, and its 30K and 35K models for professionals. That is one maker's line-up, not an industry rule. More in Corded e-file

Does a corded e-file need a UL, ETL or CSA mark?

OSHA requires approval by a recognized testing lab for many kinds of electrical equipment used in the workplace, and Health Canada advises against buying plug-in products without a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL on the product itself. That does not mean every consumer drill sold in the US must carry one. Look for the mark on the product, not just the listing. See safety marks. More in Corded e-file

How long does a cordless nail drill battery last?

Only the maker's claim is available. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT with a 2-hour full charge, Medicool claims up to 20 hours on the 35K Portable product page (its 2025 guide says 8 hours), and Kiara Sky lists a 10-hour battery for its Beyond Pro Portable. None of them states a test method. More in Cordless (rechargeable) e-file

Can I take a cordless e-file on a plane?

PHMSA says airline passengers can generally bring lithium-battery devices under FAA conditions and points travelers to the FAA PackSafe guidance. Check current FAA and airline rules for your specific device before you fly. More in Cordless (rechargeable) e-file

Do cordless e-files take the same bits as corded ones?

Often, but check. KUPA and Medicool list standard 3/32-inch bits for their portable drills. Kiara Sky's portable drill page does not state a shank size, and Young Nails' EF300P page gives no shank data. See 3/32 vs 2.35 mm bits. More in Cordless (rechargeable) e-file

Can I use any handpiece with any e-file control box?

Do not assume so. KUPA publishes a list of handpieces compatible with its Passport NEXT controller (KP-36, KP-50, KP-55, KP-60, KP-65 and Companion). Check the controller maker's own list before buying a spare or replacement handpiece. More in E-file handpiece

Can I wash an e-file handpiece?

Medicool says motorized handpieces should never be submerged in liquid and should be wiped down instead. Follow your own maker's care instructions. More in E-file handpiece

Where do I get a handpiece repaired?

Ask the maker first. KUPA runs an authorized repair-center locator on its own site and invites owners without a nearby center to contact KUPA for service. More in E-file handpiece

Why does a nail drill controller have forward and reverse?

Reverse lets the bit cut in the other direction, which left-handed techs and some techniques use. KUPA lists forward/reverse on the Passport NEXT, and Medicool markets its 5-in-1 carbide bit as cutting in both directions for right- and left-handed techs. See forward and reverse. More in E-file controller (control box)

Will a 110/220 V controller work in the US?

KUPA lists "automatic switching 110/220 volts" for its Passport system and Medicool lists a 110-220 V controller for its corded 35K. Those are the makers' statements. Check the label on the unit and the plug type on the exact listing, and use the maker's own adapter. More in E-file controller (control box)

Does a tabletop dust collector replace room ventilation?

No. NIOSH recommends local exhaust ventilation at nail workstations in addition to general room ventilation. A 2025 pilot in New York City salons found that salons relying only on local exhaust saw no significant change in airborne VOCs, while those using both local and general exhaust did. More in Tabletop dust collector

What does HEPA mean on a nail dust collector?

Only what the maker says. Kiara Sky calls the washable inner filter of its Beyond Pro collector "HEPA certified" but does not identify a HEPA standard or test. Treat a HEPA label on a listing as a maker claim. More in Tabletop dust collector

Will a 50 Hz dust collector work in the US?

Ask the maker. ULKA lists its Premium at 110-220 V / 50 Hz only, and US mains is 60 Hz. ULKA's Handy page lists "220/50 and 110V" without saying whether one unit accepts both, so check the exact unit's rating before you buy. More in Tabletop dust collector

Should I choose a built-in or tabletop dust collector?

ULKA frames the choice mainly around workspace: desktop units need no installation and can move, while built-in units sit flush in the table for a permanent station. Neither type has published capture data from the makers we read. More in Built-in dust collector

How often should I clean a built-in collector's filter?

Follow the maker. SHEMAX USA's operating guide for the Style V-PRO says to clean the filter after every client, dry only. OSHA's advice for ventilated manicure tables is to keep them on, change charcoal filters at least monthly and clean the catch basin at least weekly. More in Built-in dust collector

Do LED nail lamps emit UV?

They can emit UVA. SUNUV states 365 + 405 nm for all its lamps, and 365 nm is UVA. A 2021 Australian study measured UVA from all eight home curing devices it tested, seven of them LED, with no UVC and only trace UVB from the one fluorescent unit. More in Full-hand UV/LED lamp

Will this lamp cure my gel?

Ask the gel maker. MelodySusie explains that UV lamps emit about 350-380 nm, LED lamps about 380-410 nm and dual-band lamps 350-410 nm, and that an LED lamp may cure a UV gel slowly or not at all. More in Full-hand UV/LED lamp

Is a higher-wattage lamp stronger?

Wattage is rated power, not output at the nail. A 2018 study of 28 nail dryer devices found each had its own spectral distribution and peak intensity, and a 2021 study found price did not indicate lower UV output. More in Full-hand UV/LED lamp

How does the FDA classify nail lamps?

The FDA lists a "cosmetology UV lamp" (product code RGQ) as a UV light source used on skin, nails or hair for cosmetic purposes. No specific performance standard applies; only general radiological health requirements do. More in Full-hand UV/LED lamp

Can I fly with a rechargeable nail lamp?

PHMSA says passengers can generally bring lithium-battery devices under FAA conditions and points travelers to the FAA PackSafe guidance. Check the current FAA and airline rules for your device. More in Rechargeable (cordless) lamp

How long does a cordless nail lamp run per charge?

Only maker claims exist. OPI claims 24 hours per charge for its Lightning flash cure lamp. Kiara Sky gives two different battery-life figures on one page for its rechargeable flash cure lamp, so we publish neither. More in Rechargeable (cordless) lamp

Can a flash-cure lamp replace a full-size nail lamp?

Not as a rule. Flash-cure lamps are small and low-power: Kiara Sky lists its corded one at 4 W with two LEDs and designed it for its Gelly Tips system. Whether any lamp fully cures a product is the gel maker's call. More in Flash-cure lamp

Will my drill fit the MelodySusie 10-hole holder?

MelodySusie lists its SC320H, SC320F, SC320D, SC320C, SM200F, MM400C, MM400D, MB450C and MB450E drills. For other handpieces, "compatible with most nail drills" is the maker's claim, so compare your handpiece's size with the holder before buying. More in Drill and bit holder

What size bits does a drill holder take?

MelodySusie's 10-hole holder takes 3/32-inch bits, and MelodySusie says all of its own bits are 3/32 inch. See do all nail drill bits fit all drills? More in Drill and bit holder

Bit types

How long does a carbide nail drill bit last?

Medicool estimates about 2-4 months for carbide bits in daily professional use, against 3-6 months for ceramic and 6-12 months for diamond. That is Medicool's estimate, not a standard. Replace a bit once it is dull, because Medicool says dull bits cause extra heat and pressure. More in Carbide bit

What do carbide cut grades like XC and 2XC mean?

They are the maker's cut scale, from fine to extra-coarse. KUPA sells its MANIPro 3-in-1 carbide bit in fine, medium, coarse, extra-coarse and 2X-coarse. Grades are not standardized across brands, so compare within one maker. More in Carbide bit

How long does a diamond nail drill bit last?

Medicool estimates about 6-12 months for diamond bits in daily professional use, longer than its estimates for carbide (2-4 months) and ceramic (3-6 months). It is Medicool's estimate, not a standard. More in Diamond bit

Will a diamond bit fit my drill?

Check your handpiece's stated shank. KUPA says its diamond small barrel fits any 3/32-inch e-file handpiece. That statement does not cover chucks labeled 2.35 mm, which is a slightly different size (3/32 inch is 2.38125 mm). More in Diamond bit

Do ceramic nail bits run cooler than carbide?

Medicool's FAQ says ceramic bits generate less heat, but we found no comparative measurement, so it remains the maker's claim. A dull bit of any material causes extra heat and pressure, according to Medicool. More in Ceramic bit

How long does a ceramic bit last?

Medicool estimates about 3-6 months in daily professional use, between its carbide (2-4 months) and diamond (6-12 months) estimates. More in Ceramic bit

Do sanding band mandrels fit a standard nail drill?

KUPA lists a 3/32-inch mandrel with sanding bands in its comprehensive bit kit. Check that your handpiece takes 3/32-inch bits, and buy bands made for that mandrel. More in Mandrel and sanding bands

What is the difference between a small and a large barrel bit?

Head size. Both are straight cylinders; makers name the sizes themselves, so check the head dimensions on the maker's page. KUPA, for example, sells a diamond small barrel in fine, medium and coarse. More in Barrel bit (incl. small barrel)

Does a safety bit stop me cutting the skin?

No bit is a guarantee. A safety bit's top does not cut, but the sides do. NailKnowledge says e-files are safe in trained hands and that it is very quick and easy to seriously damage the nail plate with one. More in Safety-top bit

What cuts does a 3-in-1 carbide bit come in?

It depends on the maker. KUPA sells its MANIPro 3-in-1 carbide bit in fine, medium, coarse, extra-coarse and 2X-coarse. More in 3-in-1 carbide bit

Can a 5-in-1 bit be used by left-handed techs?

Medicool designs its 5-in-1 carbide bit (CC22) to cut both clockwise and counter-clockwise and markets it for right- and left-handed techs. Check that a different maker's 5-in-1 states the same before relying on it. More in 5-in-1 carbide bit

Will a 5-in-1 bit fit any 3/32-inch drill?

Not always. Medicool says its own 5-in-1 carbide bits do not work with its File Stream, Vac File or Pro Vac File Classic machines, even though they use the standard 3/32-inch shank. More in 5-in-1 carbide bit

Is a two-way bit the same as a left-hand bit?

Not quite. A two-way bit is designed to cut in both directions, like Medicool's 5-in-1 CC22. A left-hand bit is a version cut for reverse only; Erica's ATA, for example, sells many of its bits in separate left- and right-hand versions. More in Two-way (bidirectional) bit

Do left-handed nail techs need special bits?

Usually a left-hand version of a cutting bit or a two-way bit, used with the drill in reverse. Erica's ATA sells many bits in left- and right-hand versions, and Medicool markets its two-direction 5-in-1 CC22 for right- and left-handed techs. More in Left-hand bit