Guide · Dust collection
Nail dust collector specs explained
What watts, motor RPM, air speed in m/s and CFM mean on a nail dust collector listing, with ULKA, SHEMAX and Kiara Sky figures as examples.

Short answer
Most collector specs describe the machine, not how much dust it catches. Watts are power draw, motor RPM is how fast the motor spins, and an "air speed" in m/s is a maker figure taken at a point the maker rarely describes. Airflow (CFM) is closer to what matters, but the only CFM figure we found for a nail collector comes from a distributor and looks implausible.[1] No figure on a listing is an independent capture measurement.
The numbers makers publish
Here is what a few makers and one distributor state. These are their figures, not measurements by us or anyone independent.
| Unit | Type | Watts | Air speed | Other stated figures |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ULKA Handy | Tabletop | 30 W | 3.5 m/s | Noise "75" with no unit; 0.7 kg[2] |
| ULKA Premium | Tabletop | 48 W | 3.2 m/s max | 70 dB; 110-220 V / 50 Hz; 1.8 kg[3] |
| ULKA Nano | Tabletop | 60 W, two fans | 3.4 m/s max | 85 dB; USB and/or Type-C charging ports[4] |
| ULKA Tornado | Built-in | 63 W, two fans | 3.1 m/s max | 85 dB; side exhaust[5] |
| SHEMAX PetitePro X | Tabletop | 24 W | 2.2-3.7 m/s "capture velocity" | 24.5 x 17.5 cm capture area; 339.57 m³/h (about 200 CFM), per the US distributor[1] |
| SHEMAX Style V-PRO | Built-in | Not stated in our source | 4.4 m/s, per the US distributor | 24 x 17 cm capture area[6] |
| Kiara Sky Beyond Pro | Tabletop | Not stated in our source | Not stated | 120,000 RPM brushless motor; two suction settings[7] |
Watts: power draw, not suction
Wattage tells you how much electrical power the unit uses. It does not tell you how much air moves through the intake, because that also depends on the fan, the filter and the housing. Even within one maker's range the figures do not line up: ULKA lists its 60 W Nano at 3.4 m/s maximum air speed and its 30 W Handy at 3.5 m/s.[4][2]
Motor RPM: how fast the motor spins
Kiara Sky advertises a 120,000 RPM brushless motor for its Beyond Pro collector.[7] That is a motor figure. It is not airflow, and it is not capture. Do not compare it with an e-file's RPM or with another collector's air speed.
Air speed (m/s): a point figure with no method
Air speed is how fast air moves at some point, usually near the intake. None of the makers above say where or how they measured it, so the figures are not comparable across brands. The SHEMAX Style V-PRO shows why caution is needed: the US distributor lists 4.4 m/s, while the Canadian page gives "4.4 cubic meters/s", a unit that does not match.[8] Neither should be read as a measured airflow.
Airflow (CFM) and capture area
Airflow is the volume of air moved per minute, which is closer to what decides whether dust reaches the filter. NIOSH used airflow and face velocity when it evaluated a recirculating downdraft manicure table: about 62 cfm and 160 ft/min, which it judged inadequate, partly because there was too little air volume.[9]
The one CFM figure we found for a current nail collector is the US distributor's 339.57 m³/h (about 200 CFM) for the 24 W SHEMAX PetitePro X. That much airflow from 24 W is unusually high, and we could not verify it.[1] Do not compare it with NIOSH's 62 cfm figure; they were not measured the same way.
A capture area (the size of the intake grille) tells you how much of the desk the intake covers. It says nothing about how much dust the unit removes.
Voltage, frequency and noise
- Voltage and frequency. ULKA states 110-220 V at 50 Hz for the Premium.[3] US mains is 60 Hz[10], so ask the maker before using a 50 Hz-only unit in the US or Canada. See 120 V nail equipment.
- Noise. ULKA gives 70 dB and 85 dB for some units and a bare "75" for the Handy.[2] Without a stated distance and method, treat noise figures as rough.
- Filters. Kiara Sky calls its inner filter "HEPA certified" but does not name a standard or test.[7] See HEPA claims and filter care.
No spec on a listing tells you how much dust a collector removes from the air you breathe. The ventilation research in do nail dust collectors work? explains why design and room ventilation matter more than any single number.
Next
Questions
Does a higher-wattage dust collector have more suction?
Not necessarily. Watts are power draw. ULKA, for example, lists its 60 W Nano at 3.4 m/s maximum air speed and its 30 W Handy at 3.5 m/s.[4][2]
Is a 120,000 RPM motor a measure of suction?
No. Kiara Sky's 120,000 RPM figure describes its collector's motor. Motor speed is not airflow and not capture.[7]
What CFM should a nail dust collector have?
We found no standard for nail collectors. The one CFM figure we found, about 200 CFM for the 24 W SHEMAX PetitePro X, is the US distributor's statement and looks unusually high for that power.[1]