Guide · Lamps

Flash-cure vs full-hand nail lamps

Flash-cure lamps set one or two nails; full-hand lamps do the main cure. LED counts, power sources and sizes from Kiara Sky, OPI, SUNUV and MelodySusie.

Manicure scissors, a nail file, a buffer and wooden sticks laid out on a gray towel
Photo: Ksenia Pixelesse / Unsplash

Short answer

A flash-cure lamp is a small lamp for one or two nails at a time, often to set a nail in place before the full cure; a full-hand lamp takes the whole hand for the main cure. Makers list flash-cure lamps with far fewer LEDs: two for Kiara Sky's corded flash-cure lamp versus 24 to 33 for the full-hand lamps below.[1] Most people who cure gel at home need a full-hand lamp first; a flash-cure lamp is an add-on, and some full-hand lamps include a flash-cure mode.[2]

Side by side: what makers list

LampTypeLEDsPower sourceSize or weightOther stated features
Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Flash Cure LED LampFlash-cure2Corded: AC 100-240 V to a 5 V 1 A micro-USB adapter66 x 58 x 47 mm4 W, 400 nm, 60/45 s timers; designed for Gelly Tips[1]
Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Rechargeable Flash Cure LED LampFlash-cure12Rechargeable: 5 V 1 A input, two 2,500 mAh 3.7 V cellsNot stated in our source365 + 395 nm[3]
OPI Lightning Flash Cure Gel LampFlash-cureNot stated in our sourceCordless, USB/USB-CUnder 1.7 lbOPI claims 24 hours per charge[4]
SUNUV SUN2CFull-hand33Corded, 5 ft cable7.95 x 7.28 x 3.94 (inches implied); 2.3 lb365 + 405 nm, motion sensor, removable mirrored base[5]
MelodySusie EOS 3Full-hand24100-240 V, 50/60 Hz input8.66 x 8.11 x 3.94 in; 248 g48 W, 365-405 nm, 15/30/60/90 s timers[6]
Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Rechargeable LED Lamp IIIFull-hand30Cordless, rechargeable; offered in 120 V (US)Not stated in our source400 nm, 15/30/60 s timers plus a flash-cure mode[2]
OPI Star Light Gel LampFull-handNot stated in our sourceAdapter with a US plugNot stated in our sourceProfessional nail technicians only; manual/auto hand-sensor mode[7]

All figures are the makers'. SUNUV's page gives two different sets of timer presets for the SUN2C, so we leave them out.[5] Kiara Sky gives two different battery-life ranges for its rechargeable flash-cure lamp, so we do not quote one.[3] OPI does not make it clear which wavelength applies to the Lightning Flash.[4]

When a flash-cure lamp makes sense

  • You set one nail at a time. A small lamp lets you tack a nail before moving on, without putting the whole hand under a large lamp.
  • You work on the go. Small rechargeable units such as OPI's Lightning Flash weigh under 1.7 lb by OPI's figure.[4]
  • You use a system that names one. Kiara Sky designed its corded flash-cure lamp for its Gelly Tips system.[1]

A flash-cure lamp does not replace the full cure your gel maker specifies, unless the gel maker says it does. See will any nail lamp cure any gel?

When you need a full-hand lamp

For curing a full set, a full-hand lamp is the standard tool. Check three things the listing should state:

  1. Wavelength against your gel maker's requirement.
  2. Inside size for the hands or feet you cure; outer dimensions, like the SUN2C's,[5] tell you desk space, not the opening.
  3. Power source and input. SUNUV says all its lamps are corded and it does not sell cordless ones.[8] If you need cordless, look at rechargeable models such as Kiara Sky's Lamp III.[2]

Repairs and parts

SUNUV says the LED beads in its lamps are built in and not replaceable, and it does not sell LED boards.[8] Ask other makers the same question before you buy, and check the warranty: OPI lists a 2-year limited warranty for the Star Light,[7] and Kiara Sky a one-year limited warranty for the Lamp III.[2]

Next

Questions

What is a flash-cure lamp for?

Setting one or two nails at a time, often before the main cure. Kiara Sky, for example, designed its two-LED corded flash-cure lamp for its Gelly Tips system.[1]

Can a flash-cure lamp replace a full-hand lamp?

Only if your gel maker says so. Follow the gel maker's stated lamp and cure time for the full cure.

Are there cordless full-hand nail lamps?

Yes. Kiara Sky lists its Beyond Pro Rechargeable LED Lamp III as cordless and rechargeable. SUNUV, by contrast, says all its lamps are corded.[2][8]

Can I replace the LEDs in a nail lamp?

Not in SUNUV lamps: SUNUV says the LED beads are built in and not replaceable, and it does not sell LED boards. Ask other makers before you buy.[8]

Sources and changes

  1. Beyond Pro Flash Cure LED Nail Lamp (Kiara Sky) · Manufacturer · Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Flash Cure LED Lamp (corded mini adapter): power, input, size, wavelength, patents. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. Beyond Pro Rechargeable LED Lamp III - Black (Kiara Sky) · Manufacturer · Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Lamp III: LEDs, wavelength, timers, 120 V US note, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Beyond Pro Rechargeable Flash Cure LED Lamp - White (Kiara Sky) · Manufacturer · Kiara Sky rechargeable flash cure lamp: waveband, LEDs, battery, charge time. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. Lightning Flash Cure Gel Lamp | OPI · Manufacturer · OPI Lightning Flash Cure Gel Lamp: power, battery claim, weight, wavelength text. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. SUN2C UV LED Nail Lamp (SUNUV) · Manufacturer · SUNUV SUN2C product page: specs, certifications claim, plug options, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  6. EOS 3 (P-Plus24T) LED/UV Nail Lamp (MelodySusie) · Manufacturer · MelodySusie EOS 3 lamp: wattage, wavelength, beads, input/output, dimensions. · checked 2026-10-07
  7. OPI STAR LIGHT Gel Lamp · Manufacturer · OPI Star Light gel lamp: pro-only, warranty, sensor, US-plug replacement adapter. · checked 2026-10-07
  8. SUNUV Nail Lamp - Common Questions & Troubleshooting · Manufacturer · SUNUV help-center article (updated Aug 2026): wavelengths, plugs, cords, cordless, LEDs, UV statements. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.