Equipment type

Cordless e-files: battery claims, bit fit, chargers and travel

What makers claim for cordless e-file runtime, speed and bit fit, why battery figures conflict, and what to check about chargers and flying.

Also listed as portable e-file, cordless nail drill, rechargeable nail drill

Short answer

A cordless e-file runs from a rechargeable battery, so you can work away from an outlet. Makers' runtime claims vary and rarely come with a test method: KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT, while Medicool's 35K Portable page claims up to 20 hours and its own 2025 guide says 8. Check the stated bit shank too, because not every maker publishes it.

Key facts

What it does
Rechargeable nail drill: a portable control box or base powers the handpiece[1][2]KUPA's Passport NEXT pairs a portable control box with the Companion handpiece. Young Nails' EF300P ships with a controller, handpiece and charging base.
Power source
Rechargeable battery, charged from a supplied charger or base[1][2]
Input voltage
"Automatic switching 110/220 volts" (KUPA Passport system)[3][4]KUPA's statement. A replacement charger's output voltage must match the device's input, and its current must be compatible, according to Health Canada.
Bit shank
3/32 inch (KUPA Passport NEXT, Medicool 35K Portable); not stated by Kiara Sky or Young Nails[1][5][6][2]Kiara Sky's Beyond Pro Portable page and Young Nails' EF300P page do not state a shank size. Ask the maker before buying bits.
Speed (claimed)
30,000 RPM (KUPA Passport NEXT); up to 35,000 RPM (Medicool 35K Portable, Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Portable); 0-35,000 RPM (Young Nails EF300P)[1][5][6][2]Maker figures, not measurements under load.
Torque published
4.8 N-cm (Medicool 35K Portable)[5]Medicool states no test method, so do not compare it with another brand's torque figure as if both were measured the same way.
Battery (claimed)
10-12 hours and a 2-hour full charge (KUPA Passport NEXT); up to 20 hours on Medicool's 35K Portable product page; 10 hours (Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Portable)[1][5][7][6]Medicool's own 2025 guide lists the 35K Portable at 8 hours. None of these makers gives a test method.
Handpiece size
KUPA Companion: 4.75 in long, 0.8 in diameter, 5 oz; Medicool 35K Portable: 4.9 oz[1][5]Maker specs.
Safety marks
None named on KUPA's Passport pages[3][1][8]Health Canada says replacement chargers should carry a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL.
Warranty
One year per KUPA's Passport NEXT product page; one-year manufacturer's warranty (Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Portable)[1][9][6]KUPA's 2025 news post mentions a longer limited warranty, which conflicts with the product page. Ask KUPA before relying on more than one year.
What no source measures
Real runtime, loaded speed and motor type claims[1][6]Runtime figures come with no test method. Kiara Sky's portable drill page calls the motor both geared and brushless, so its motor type is unclear.

Watch out for

  • Battery figures disagree even within one brand. Medicool's 35K Portable product page claims up to 20 hours, while Medicool's own 2025 guide lists the same model at 8 hours.
  • Not every maker states the shank. KUPA and Medicool list standard 3/32-inch bits; Kiara Sky's Beyond Pro Portable page does not state a shank size, so ask before buying bits for it.
  • Use the original charger. Health Canada recommends the original charger, says a replacement's output voltage must match the device's input, and advises against using swollen, dented or damaged lithium-ion batteries.
  • Check the warranty on the product page you buy from. KUPA's Passport NEXT page states one year; a KUPA news post says otherwise, so do not count on a longer term without asking KUPA.

Who it suits: mobile techs and anyone working away from an outlet. If you work at one desk, a corded e-file avoids battery wear. Compare the trade-offs in corded vs cordless nail drills.

Planning to fly or ship one? Read flying with rechargeable nail equipment first.

Questions

How long does a cordless nail drill battery last?

Only the maker's claim is available. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT with a 2-hour full charge, Medicool claims up to 20 hours on the 35K Portable product page (its 2025 guide says 8 hours), and Kiara Sky lists a 10-hour battery for its Beyond Pro Portable. None of them states a test method.[1][5][7][6]

Can I take a cordless e-file on a plane?

PHMSA says airline passengers can generally bring lithium-battery devices under FAA conditions and points travelers to the FAA PackSafe guidance. Check current FAA and airline rules for your specific device before you fly.[10]

Do cordless e-files take the same bits as corded ones?

Often, but check. KUPA and Medicool list standard 3/32-inch bits for their portable drills. Kiara Sky's portable drill page does not state a shank size, and Young Nails' EF300P page gives no shank data. See 3/32 vs 2.35 mm bits.[1][5][6][2]

Sources

  1. MP Passport Next Complete White · Kupa Inc · KUPA MANIPro Passport NEXT complete kit (Companion handpiece): features, battery claim, voltage, compatible handpieces KP-36 to KP-Companion. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. YN Portable Rechargeable E-file · Young Nails · Young Nails EF300P portable e-file: speed range and contents. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. KP-55 Handpiece · Kupa Inc · KUPA KP-55 handpiece: size, weight, RPM, 3/32 chuck, voltage switching, warranty, discontinuation notice. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. Buying electrical products online · Health Canada · Health Canada consumer guidance: certification marks, charger compatibility. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. Pro Power 35K Portable Nail Drill · Medicool · Medicool Pro Power 35K Portable: RPM, torque, battery, shank, weight, warranty, brushless claims. · checked 2026-10-07
  6. Portable Nail Drill Machine - White · Kiara Sky · Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Portable Nail Drill: RPM, battery, features, contents, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  7. Electric Nail File - The Ultimate 2025 Guide for Pros & Beginners · Medicool · Medicool blog: model table and speed guidance. · checked 2026-10-07
  8. Lithium-ion battery safety · Health Canada · Health Canada lithium-ion battery use, charging and charger-mark guidance. · checked 2026-10-07
  9. KUPA's NEW Limited Edition MANIPro Passport NEXT in Rose Gold · Kupa Inc · KUPA 2025 news post on Passport NEXT Rose Gold with KP-65 handpiece; warranty wording. · checked 2026-10-07
  10. Transporting Lithium Batteries · Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration · PHMSA lithium battery transport rules and UN 38.3 test summaries (US). · checked 2026-10-07

Next review due 2027-01-07.