Guide · Portable kits

Corded vs cordless nail drills

Corded e-files run all day from the wall; cordless ones go anywhere. What makers claim for speed and battery hours, what those claims leave out, and backups.

Manicure scissors, a nail file, a buffer and wooden sticks laid out on a gray towel
Photo: Ksenia Pixelesse / Unsplash

Short answer

A corded e-file runs from the wall for as long as you need it; a cordless one runs from a built-in battery so you can work anywhere. Top speeds look the same on paper: Medicool lists 35,000 RPM for both its corded Pro Power 35K and its 35K Portable.[1][2] The real differences are battery life, charging and service, and battery hours are maker claims with no stated test method. Choose cordless if you work mobile; choose corded if you work at one desk all day; keep a backup if you depend on one drill.

The trade-off at a glance

CordedCordless (rechargeable)
Power sourceThe wall, through a controllerA built-in battery, charged between uses
RuntimeAs long as it is plugged inWhatever the battery gives; maker claims only
Where you can workNear an outletAnywhere, including client homes and events
Extra things to manageThe cord and, on some models, a foot pedalCharging, charger compatibility, battery care, travel rules

What makers claim for cordless drills

DrillMaker's stated speedMaker's battery claim
KUPA Passport NEXT30,000 RPM[3]10-12 hours, 2-hour full charge[3]
Medicool Pro Power 35K Portable35,000 RPM[2]Medicool claims up to 20 hours on the product page[2]
Kiara Sky Beyond Pro PortableUp to 35,000 RPM[4]10-hour battery[4]
Young Nails EF300P0 to 35,000 RPM[5]Not stated on the page we read

Read these hours with care. None of the pages states a test method, so you cannot tell what speed or load the figure assumes.

Shank size is another thing to confirm. KUPA and Medicool state standard 3/32-inch bits for these drills;[3][2] the Kiara Sky and Young Nails pages we read do not state a shank size.

What makers state for corded drills

Medicool's corded Pro Power 35K runs up to 35,000 RPM from an included 110-220 V controller, comes with an on/off foot pedal and carries a one-year warranty.[1] No safety certification mark is named on that page. For what UL, ETL and CSA marks mean, see safety marks on nail equipment.

Torque and motor claims

Medicool lists 4.8 N-cm of torque and a brushless motor for its 35K Portable.[2] It does not state a torque test method, and the other makers in the table publish no torque figure, so torque cannot settle corded vs cordless. Claims that brushless motors last longer or run more efficiently are general marketing; we found no evidence for a specific handpiece. See nail drill RPM and torque.

Battery care and chargers

A cordless drill brings lithium-ion battery rules with it. Health Canada advises against using lithium-ion batteries that are swollen, dented or damaged, recommends the original charger, and says replacement chargers should carry a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL.[6]

If you fly with a cordless drill, see flying with rechargeable nail equipment.

Why a backup helps

If clients depend on one drill, a fault or a flat battery stops your day. A simple plan:

  • Two drills, one corded and one cordless, or two of the same model.
  • A charging routine, so the cordless drill starts every day full.
  • A spare charger from the maker, not a generic one.

The mobile nail tech equipment checklist covers the rest of a travel kit.

Next

Questions

Are cordless nail drills as powerful as corded ones?

On paper the top speeds match: Medicool lists 35,000 RPM for both its corded Pro Power 35K and its 35K Portable. No maker we read publishes a comparable loaded test, so the spec sheet cannot settle it.[1][2]

How long does a cordless nail drill battery last?

Only maker claims exist. KUPA claims 10-12 hours for the Passport NEXT and Medicool claims up to 20 hours for the 35K Portable on its product page; neither states a test method.[3][2]

Can I use any charger with a cordless nail drill?

Use the original. Health Canada recommends the original charger and says replacement chargers should carry a Canadian mark such as CSA, cUL or cETL.[6]

Is a cordless drill good for a beginner?

It can be, if you will work in different places. If you work at one desk, a corded drill avoids charging and battery care. Either way, start at low speed.

Sources and changes

  1. Pro Power 35K Professional Electric Nail File (Medicool) · Manufacturer · Medicool Pro Power 35K corded: RPM, 110-220 V controller, foot pedal, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. Pro Power 35K Portable Nail Drill (Medicool) · Manufacturer · Medicool Pro Power 35K Portable: RPM, torque, battery, shank, weight, warranty, brushless claims. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. MP Passport Next Complete White (Kupa Inc) · Manufacturer · KUPA MANIPro Passport NEXT complete kit (Companion handpiece): features, battery claim, voltage, compatible handpieces KP-36 to KP-Companion. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. Portable Nail Drill Machine - White (Kiara Sky) · Manufacturer · Kiara Sky Beyond Pro Portable Nail Drill: RPM, battery, features, contents, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. YN Portable Rechargeable E-file (Young Nails) · Manufacturer · Young Nails EF300P portable e-file: speed range and contents. · checked 2026-10-07
  6. Lithium-ion battery safety (Health Canada) · Official documentation · Health Canada lithium-ion battery use, charging and charger-mark guidance. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.